I´m from EEA/EFTA - General information

EEA/EFTA citizens are nationals of one of the member states of The European Union (EU) or the European Free Trade Association (EFTA).

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

A citizen of an EEA/EFTA member state may stay and work in Iceland without a permit for up to three months from his/her arrival in Iceland, or stay up to six months if he/she is seeking employment.


If the individual plans to reside longer in Iceland, he/she shall register his right to residency with Registers Iceland.


Residency in another Nordic country is not deducted from the residency period.


Useful links:

Info Norden: When you are thinking of moving to the Nordic countries

Registers Iceland: Nordic nationals moving to Iceland


For British citizens:

British citizens in Europe after Brexit (by the Institute for Government).

Information for British citizens (by the directorate of Immigration in Iceland).

Privacy Settings
We use cookies to enhance your experience while using our website. If you are using our Services via a browser you can restrict, block or remove cookies through your web browser settings. We also use content and scripts from third parties that may use tracking technologies. You can selectively provide your consent below to allow such third party embeds. For complete information about the cookies we use, data we collect and how we process them, please check our Privacy Policy